Leave a comment

my snatch blisters :)

Ouch!

Today I earned my first kettlebell war wounds, and I couldn’t have been more thrilled. Don’t ask me why it tickled me so much to see these bulbous blood blisters pop up on my pinkies after today’s workout! I felt very macho. I don’t care what anyone says, if you don’t feel like a badass when performing woman-makers, you probably aren’t doing it right.

jac’s wod

I set el Jefe (left) for 15 one-minute intervals, then did my usual joint mobility warm up with some air squats followed by three TGU’s on each side with my 16 kg kettlebell (Black Betty). The TGU’s felt awesome! The first time I tried to do three consecutively on each side, I struggled on the last one. This time they were a breeze!

Every minute on the minute, I did 5 snatches on each arm with my 25 pound bell (Yazmine). By the third set I tried switching hands at the bottom of the final snatch on the right hand, and this felt very natural. This is the beginning of my training for the goal I set for myself today, to complete the snatch test using my smaller kettlebell by my birthday (2-24-12). I usually do swings on the minute, but I thought it might be a nice way to get started. My heart rate stayed up just enough throughout the 15 minutes, and by the end I felt the pain!

These little guys popped up on the next to last set.

After my snatches, I played around and discovered I can now military press Black Betty with my right arm. I couldn’t do it on the left so there is something to work on! I cranked out a few on each side, using Yaz. I wonder if I ought to start doing more on the left to get stronger? Then I did some double KB windmills for fun (three on each side).

Next up, a burpee tabata, which left me pleasantly breathless. I will have to post a vid of my new burpees, because they are edging closer and closer to awesomeness. I felt like a burpee machine!  These days I do at least one tabata per workout, after my harder work is done.

After that I did my sit up routine, which is 4 sets of 25 reps of a crossfit-style sit up with improvised abmat. I usually rest 30 sec between each set, but today I shaved the rest time down to 20 seconds, as these are getting much, much easier.

And finally and painfully, I did the Glute Guy’s butt workout, which is detailed here. I usually do this a few times a week now, as I am obsessed with my own ass. Today I tried doing a kettlebell hip thrust instead of my usual weighted glute bridge. Felt good!

I really have to thank 97.1 The Eagle today for providing a kickass soundtrack for my workout. They cranked out some goodies, and reminded me why rock n roll will always be my favorite :).

soundtrack to my pain

GNR – Welcome to the Jungle

GNR – November Rain

Van Halen – Hot for Teacher (new theme song?)

Pearl Jam – Evenflow

White Zombie – Super Charger Heaven

Metallica – Whiskey in the Jar

workout summary:  warmup with TGU‘s

                                                150 snatches on the minute

                                                military presses & windmills

                                                burpee tabata

                                                glute guy workout

                                                streeeeeeeeeetch (mmm.)

eats

To be perfectly honest, I am low on food, so today was a Warrior day, and I ate only 2 hours before my workout (plain spiced tuna fish and a banana)  and 20 minutes after (2 tblspns almond butter and half an orange).

I had great amounts of energy all day and never felt hungry. For dinner I had some garlicky steak fried in a pan with some equally garlicky green beans smothered in a little coconut oil. Afterward I was still hungry and had time to spend with my love so I drank a small cup of coffee and had three eggs fried up in my steak grease. It’s funny, these eggs were sooo damn good and the thought of adding cheese to them now seems pretty gross. They are already rich and delicious as is! I think I am over dairy completely! That was the hardest thing to contemplate sacrificing on the altar of the paleo goddesses, but now I don’t even miss it. Feeling completely satisfied, I totally fell asleep without hanging out with my man….oops! Love you, Kassper, sorry!

– J

Leave a Reply

