Leave a comment

what a week

jac’s wods

week of 3 – 19 – 12

(anything bolded and pink is a link that can be followed to a tutorial i’ve selected)

monday

1 . farmer’s walk from work to park (.39 miles), alternating hands (16 kg)

2 . practice/warm up: cleans, snatches, windmills, get ups

3 . burpee tabata (like this video, corrects the burpee)

4 . running up and down hills

 5 . repeat 3x:

6 . tabata alternating high knees & one arm kettlebell swing (alternating)

7 . bret contreras’ glute guy workout (experimenting with some single leg bodyweight glute bridges & bodyweight hip thrusts)

Um…guess I was trying to commit workout suicide? Don’t know why I did so much. The leg raises are where you lie flat with your legs straight up then lift your hips and butt to “poke” up with your feet into the air. Can’t think of a better explanation, sorry! Any kind of leg raise is good.

wednesday

1 . tabata alternating 2 hand kettlebell swings (20 kg) and jumping rope

2. 3 turkish get-ups on each side

3 . repeat 3x (45 seconds work:15 seconds rest, using the gymboss)

4 . ab torture, repeat twice:

Woooooooooo, that was some tough shit.

friday

1 . 3 turkish get ups per side (16 kg, using my chronicles of strength critique to improve)

. “closer” workout, from metalfitness.com (this was supposed to be a 5 minute exercise challenge, but i forgot to start the timer, so i ended up doing around 7 minutes probably, completing 4 rounds total

  • modified wall walks (8)
  • elbow-plank hip raises (10)
  • clean & jerk (right) (4)     – 16 kg
  • clean & jerk (left) (4)   – 16 kg
  • kettlebell front squat (3)  – 20 kg
  • 2 hand kb swing (12)  – 20 kg

3 . burpee tabata

4 . bret contreras’ “glute guy” workout (OUUUUUCCCCHHHHHH!!!!!)

eats

I was lucky enough to find a copy of “Everyday Paleo” by Sarah Fragoso at the Valley Ranch Library. Was so excited, because it really outlines how to implement a paleo-friendly transition when you have children. Sarah herself, who runs a blog by the same name, is just so accessible and her story is very interesting. She grew up with foodies/health nuts, and led what most people would call a very happy, active life, and still was run-down, unhealthy, and had a hard time losing weight after having a child. She had pretty serious gluten-intolerance issues, which is what led her to paleo.

One disturbing factoid I picked up from her book that I’m not soon to forget? One dose of gluten takes 15 days to get out of your system. Sarah says that if you do decide to cheat, you should do it gluten-free! This floored me…It made me realize that cheating once a week with donuts and pizza could be sabotaging me more than I even know. While I don’t think I have gluten sensitivity problems now, I think a reduction in gluten and grains in general helps me feel better and perform stronger. SO last week I went completely gluten free for 7 days, and I am so proud of myself, not gonna lie.

Sarah makes an important point in the first few paragraphs. Paleo is not about eliminating most of the crappy food we eat, it entails eliminating all of the crappy foods, and eating only real, natural, unmessed-with food. It is a lot to take on, but when you know why you’re doing it, it is worth it. To maximize well-being and health, it is worth it. Now, if I can convince my six-year-old, we’ll be in business! She is already taking a shine to the paleo lifestyle (she loves fruit, almond butter, bacon, and coconut).

Another stand-out in the book is the moment she realized that it felt all wrong to continue to serve her family unhealthy foods when she was making such an effort toward nutritional excellence on her own behalf. I can completely relate, and have been gradually reducing the amount of dairy and gluten in my own family’s diet since reading Sarah’s book.

I think if I lived in a bubble, I could happily dine on paleo cuisine at every meal (except when I’m fasting of course). Unfortunately, none of us is isolated from the daily bombardment of bread in our world. It is really tough to think outside the box and satisfy your neolithic taste buds without eating neolithic foods. Since I work at a daycare, I see a lot of crackers, cookies, pasta, and milk during a day. My kids survive on gluten-filled, low-cost foods. 😦 That is what the government provides us through our subsidized Texas food program.

Celeste and I really enjoyed her book, full of lovely pictures, shopping lists, FAQ’s and even an exercise section (Sarah favors Crossfit).

So my new goal is to really try to cut out gluten completely, and I think it’s totally possible. There are plenty of wonderful, gluten-free foods to enjoy. Coffee, chocolate, veggies, fruits, wine, meat, eggs and nuts are enough to keep me going, I just need to plan ahead and stay creative with my meals. This week I cooked zucchini “pasta” with marinara and steak, a salad of steak and avocado that was to die for, and last night I whipped up the most beautiful “meatza” with black olives, peppers, and mozzarella. Oh and I roasted a nice big chicken last weekend.

Paleo has reawakened my love for cooking, with a whole new healthy twist.

The key for me is going to be learning to cheat with healthier foods like cheese, peanut butter, chocolate, etc. Time to get REALLY creative, baby! Oh, and the book has some great, great, GREAT ideas for paleo parents when it comes to breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. This book is really an invaluable resource.

Would you like one, too? No worries, I am giving one away in April.

So, so, so STOKED to be receiving a free quart of Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil. It is organic and completely unprocessed, and I cannot wait to try it! After using it for a little while I will write a review. Do you want one? Well then keep reading, because Tropical Traditions is going to give one of my readers the above pictured product! Will provide details soon.

— J

Leave a Reply

